Statewide Ed-LinQ program

The Ed-LinQ Program (Ed-LinQ) was established in 2009 to improve linkages and service integration between the education sector (Department of Education and Training, Catholic Education, and Independent Schools), primary care, community and mental health sectors to support the early detection and collaborative care of school-aged children and young people at risk of – or experiencing – mental health problems or mental illness.

Ed-LinQ is a service that does not work with young people or parents/carers directly. Ed-LinQ works with schools and service providers to facilitate early access to mental health advice.
If you are concerned about your child’s mental health and the matter is urgent, please contact your local hospital.

If the matter is not urgent, contact your GP, local Child and Youth Mental Health Service or school (Principal, Guidance Counsellor, School Based Youth Health Nurse) to discuss your concerns. Your child’s school or the local mental health service will be able to contact the Ed-LinQ Coordinator for you.

The key focus areas for Ed-LinQ coordinators are:

Provision of school based consultation liaison

Ed-LinQ coordinators facilitate early access to mental health advice and, where warranted, timely assessment and collaborative care of those with more intensive needs.

Enhancing capacity

Ed-LinQ coordinators provide actions that increase the knowledge, skills and understanding of stakeholders regarding mental health problems and mental illness in children and young people and in regard to working collaboratively for better outcomes.

Fostering strategic partnerships

Ed-LinQ Coordinators facilitate partnerships and a shared understanding between health, education (Department of Education & Training, Catholic Education and Independent Schools Queensland), primary care and community stakeholders on ways to work together for early intervention of mental health problems in school aged children and young people.

If you work in a school, or provide services to school-aged children and young people at risk of – or experiencing – mental health problems or mental illness, please contact your local Ed-LinQ Coordinator to discuss how they may be able to support you.

Catchment area

Ed-LinQ Coordinators are currently located in 12 Hospital and Health Services across Queensland. Most are based in Child and Youth Mental Health Service delivery locations.

  • Children’s Health Queensland
  • Gold Coast
  • Metro South
  • West Moreton
  • Redcliffe Caboolture
  • Sunshine Coast
  • Mackay
  • Townsville
  • Cairns and Hinterland
  • Darling Downs
  • Central Queensland

Do I need a referral?

You do not need a formal referral to access this service.

How do I get a referral?

Referrals are accepted from:

  • child and youth mental health clinicians
  • School staff (principals, guidance staff, mental health coaches, teachers) from all education sectors
  • school based youth health nurses
  • non-government agency staff
  • primary care providers (GPs)
  • private clinical providers (ATAPS clinicians, private practitioners).

Other referral information

Ed-LinQ coordinators support schools and service providers. If you are seeking clinical mental health services, please contact your local Child and Youth Mental Health Service.

Information for health professionals

Ed-LinQ coordinators work to improve linkages and service integration between the education sector (Department of Education and Training, Catholic Education, and Independent Schools), primary care, community and mental health sectors to support the early detection and collaborative care of school-aged children and young people at risk of – or experiencing – mental health problems or mental illness.

Referral instructions

Please contact your local Ed-LinQ Coordinator directly to discuss your support requirements.

Useful links

Kids Matter
MindMatters
Queensland Mental Health Commission
Student Wellbeing Hub

Contact details

Statewide Ed-LinQ Coordinator

Claire Rabaa, CHQ CYMHS
e: Claire.Rabaa@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 3310 9444

Gold Coast Hospital and Health Service

Jessica Pike, Gold Coast CYMHS
e: Jessica.Pike@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 5635 7131
m: 0403 604 194

Metro South Hospital and Health Service

Pete Burns, Logan CYMHS
e: Peta-anne.Burns@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 3089 4100

West Moreton Hospital and Health Service

Caron Cahill, West Moreton CYMHS
e: Caron.Cahill@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 3817 2360

Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service

Melissa Russell and Catherine Langford, CHQ CYMHS
e: Melissa.Russell2@health.qld.gov.au
e: Catherine.Langford@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 3310 9444

Redcliffe/Caboolture Hospital and Health Service

Joanne Hayes, Caboolture CYMHS
e: Joanne.Hayes@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 5316 3100

Sunshine Coast Hospital and Health Service

Judy Jasinski and Fiona Cuskelly, Sunshine Coast CYMHS
e: Judy.Jasinski@health.qld.gov.au
e: Fiona.Cuskelly@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 5409 9111

Mackay Hospital and Health Service

Beau Zelenka, Mackay CYMHS
e: Beau.Zelenka@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 4968 3893

Townsville Hospital and Health Service

Lee Town, Townsville CYMHS
e: Lee.Town@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 4433 9004

Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service

Linsey Graham, Cairns CYMHS
e: Linsey.Graham@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 4226 3400

Darling Downs Hospital and Health Service

Eleanor Glover, Toowoomba CYMHS
e: Eleanor.Glover@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 4616 5755

Central Queensland Hospital and Health Service

Nicole Cooper, Rockhampton CYMHS
e: Nicole.Cooper@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 4920 5700

Allison Farrow, Gladstone CYMHS
e: Allison.Farrow@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 4976 3244

Wide Bay Hospital and Health Service

Fiona Meredith, Bundaberg CYMHS
e: Fiona.Meredith@health.qld.gov.au
t: 07 4150 2620

Operating hours

Monday to Friday, 8.30am-4.30pm.
Please contact your local Ed-LinQ Coordinator to discuss their availability and locations.

Resources

Child and Youth Mental Health Service locations map