## Children's Health Queensland Hospital and Health Board

Thursday, 7 July 2023 Queensland Children's Hospital

Dear colleagues and community members

The Children's Health Queensland Hospital and Health Board held its July 2023 meeting at the Queensland Children's Hospital. The meeting was chaired by David Gow, who paid respect to the Traditional Owners of the lands on which we walk, talk, work and live.

The importance of NAIDOC week was acknowledged, and the Board was delighted to have the opportunity to watch the animated video which has been produced to support and promote CHQ's Health Equity Strategy.

The Board also met with representatives of the team behind the 'MOB ED' service which provides a culturally safe pathway for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young people and their families and carers who attend the Queensland Children's Hospital Emergency Department.

CHQ's 2023-24 budget was approved, and Board also considered and approved the Preliminary Business Case (PBC) for the Caboolture Child and Youth Community Health Hub development. This will now move to the next stage of the approval process for major capital developments.

The nominations which were submitted for the 2023 Medal of Distinction were considered carefully by the Board. The strength and diversity of the nominations was welcomed, and the Board agreed to award two Medals of Distinction at the CHQ Excellence Awards on 3 August 2023.

The Executive Director, Medical Services briefed the Board on the outcomes of the short notice accreditation assessment which was undertaken in June 2023 and the Board also received reports from the Executive Leadership Team covering operations and finance, and workplace health and safety.

The Board and Executive Leadership Team will undertake a range of actions following the meeting to progress our commitment to safe and high-quality healthcare.

On behalf of the Board, thank you for your ongoing commitment to keeping our community safe.

David Gow Chair Children's Health Queensland Board





This summary of Board discussion and decisions made does not form or represent any part of the minutes of the meeting.



The CHQ Board: David Gow (Chair), Cheryl Herbert (Deputy Chair), A/Prof Martin Byrne, Suzanne Cadigan, A/Prof Simon Denny, Will Fellowes, Karina Hogan, Meredith Staib, Heather Watson and Ross Willims.



